Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

I'm New!

KristiR

Cavy Slave
Hello,
I'm new at guinea pigs. I recently adopted a 2 year old male guinea pig named Patrick. He came from a guy I work with's wife. They were moving and didn't have enough room for him. I got the cage and all the stuff they had which wasn't much. I did a ton of research on guinea pigs and found out that he really wasn't cared for properly by them. He didn't have hay available 24/7 and was getting this junk food that looked like the cereal Fruity Pebbles. Now he has hay and Oxbow pellets. Every day he gets fresh veggies and fruit. The only real issue I'm having is that he's very skittish. He does not like being handled. I have to kind of "catch" him in his new C&C cage I bought him. I was sort of hoping to have a piggy that enjoyed being carted around kind of like my late rat did. I have tried to wrap him in a towel while holding him and feeding him goodies like strawberries but he gets so nervous he makes this scared noise and won't even eat the strawberries. I am guessing he was a pet that was kind of forgotten about in the spare room. At my house, that will not be the case. Does anyone have any suggestions for getting him used to being handled better? I should mention that I've had him for 4 weeks now and I've had him to the exotic vet for a wellness check and he's a big healthy guy. He's 2.8lbs and I was told he's an Abyssinian by my vet. He has cowlicks everywhere. He's mostly black with this cute carmel colored stripe around his midsection and a white nose.

I love him to pieces. I talk to him all the time and pet him in his cage. He no longer nibbles at my fingers when I try to pet him so that's a step right?

:)

Digital_Dad

Cavy Slave