Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

When and how to introduce?

thundermuse

Cavy Slave
I've been reading these forums for awhile, but this is my first time posting.

I have two boars happily living together. I recently took in two other boars (living happily together) from a family that couldn't keep them. The new guys still have 2.5 weeks of quarantine, after which they will be moved to the room with the original pair. The cages will be placed next to each other. I have no intention of making one gigantic cage for all of them to live in together, but I would like all four of them to be able to have floor time together.

So, my questions are:

1) When should I introduce them? Should I give them some time in the same room together before introducing them so they get used to each other's scents first, or can I introduce them right away (after quarantine time's up, of course)?

2) When I do introduce them, should I put them all together at once--all four pigs? Or should I introduce them one at a time?

3) Is there a risk of the bonded pairs not getting along after all four are introduced at floor time? I would hate to have that happen, because they're so happy with their buddies right now. Should I just not try it?

Thanks for any input!

Pamp81

Cavy Slave
Well they usualy don't really care that another pig is there but keep towels ready incase they fight. Get someone to help.

Slap Maxwell

Cavy Slave
Introduce them all on neutral territory. I would suggest trying it and I don't see that bonded pairs wont get along. You may even be able to house them together after a few meetings, if you are interested in doing that. (I would be!)

Guinea_Gal

Cavy Slave
Yes, i agree. They would love to have a huge cage together in my opinion!

thundermuse

Cavy Slave