Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Frazzle and Rocky are here to stay.

lazeebones

Cavy Slave
Hello, I am new to the world of guinea pigs but am hooked thanks to a chance visit to Petco where there was this, what I call a throwaway, little guy setting out in the middle of the store on a table. I’m a sucker for throwaways, 2 of my 3 rabbits were a craigs list throwaway. So for 40 bucks including the cage I brought Rocky home and then proceeded to study up on them. Right away I find out that he should have a friend. As luck would have it, for me, not so much for Rocky, I was back in Petco 30 days later and there set poor little Frazzle, he was not happy at all. Much more shy than Rocky and obviously terrified. These poor little drop offs come with little or no information. Rocky they knew his name and he is 2yrs, belonged to a young mother with 2 toddlers and he didn’t sell on Craigslist so she deposited him at Petco. Frazzle they knew less about, they think he is 4 yrs old, no name so I named him Frazzle. Rocky had already warmed up to me and comes to the edge of his crib to check me out and isn’t scared of me anymore. Frazzle, well it may take longer, but I have only had him 4 days now. He is a real fast little fellow. And so far Rocky doesn’t think much of Frazzle, so for now he is in a separate crib. This I am not worried about, I had to keep 1 of my rabbits, BB, all females, separate from Pea and Furbee for a yr before they began to get along and now everyone is happily coexisting.

Attachments

rocky3.jpg

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
Welcome to the forum!

FYI, the pet cage you bought is too small for two guinea pigs -- you'll need something different so you can put them together. See the Main page of this site for cage size recommendations.