Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Cage idea?

Rnd210

Cavy Slave
I am thinking about redoing my cage mainly for easier cleaning.

These are drawings of my ideas, mind you I am not the best artist but this is my ideas.

Cage 1 is for the girs 3x6 grid with a 1x3 hayloft and cage 2 is using the top bunk of my son's bunk bed that makes a 3x5 with a 1x3 hayloft or it might be a 2 1/2x 5grid with a 1x2 1/2 grid loft.

Any feed back would be great since I am thinking the new cages will be perminate for I will not be redoing after this.

Scout.Layne

Cavy Slave
This is just my opinion and I'm new at this but A) I think that a hayloft would be a great idea to keep the hay semi-seperate from the fleece. This might make cleaning easier. But B) Wouldn't it be hard to reach up on top of a bunkbed to clean out the second cage? Maybe I'm just short.

Rnd210

Cavy Slave
I'm short but I can clean it by standing on the bottom bunk since the bottom bunk is fullsize and if all else fells my hubby who is over 6 feet can clean it and my son who is taller than me can clean it too.

lissie

Cavy Slave
I wouldn't keep the pigs on top bunk for some personal reasons.
1) My son is allergic to hay. Sleeping under hay would probably be a bad idea. Even if there's no allergies involved, he'll hear the pigs running above him while he tries to sleep. Why not put his bed on top and the pigs on the bottom?

2) I won't be able to see the pigs run around and popcorn because I'm short.

The girls' cage is a good idea. I have a hayloft and haven't had to clean hay on the fleece.

Rnd210

Cavy Slave
I thought of that too but my son is an insomniac, so that's not really a problem since the doctor has put him on sleeping pills, he is a very heavy sleeper and the hay doesn't bother him at all.

lissie

Cavy Slave