Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Baby GP's head got stuck in 9-space grid

Jenberra

Cavy Slave
I have just had a very distressing incident; one of my new babies got her head stuck in a 9-space grid. She's OK, but I wanted to share my story, both as therapy because I'm so upset and also as a warning to others.

I am a GP newbie - I picked up two shorthaired baby girls (now 7 weeks old) 9 days ago. Our boys (7 & 9 yo) have named them Toffee and Nibbler. We have no experience with guinea pigs and I have been researching online since deciding to get them ten months ago.

Nibbler seems to be the dominant piggie but is very shy of us - she rarely comes out of her hidey when we're around. Toffee is more adventurous, coming up to the bars to sniff the air near me when I sit next to them, etc. I haven't been giving them very much lap time as they get extremely distressed when I pick them up to move them to the grass pen or indoors, so I dread picking them up just for a cuddle when they hate it so much. Toffee is more expressive in her displeasure at being handled (nipping, squirming, etc) while Nibbler goes quiet and might even enjoy a pat once she's been captured. I've been trying to sit by their pen for at least an hour a day, talking to them and enjoying their antics. I'll have to keep working on getting them to trust me and letting me pick them up - was thinking of trying a cuddle sack, but will have to make my own and that might take some time.