Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Wanted to introduce myself

meldey211

Cavy Slave
Hello! I am a newbie here but I have close to 20 years of experience caring for guinea pigs.
I have the most amazing piggy ever, his name is Trumpet and he is 2 years old. He was surrendered to me along with his brother who passed away 3 months ago. The day after losing his cage mate I received a heavily pregnant female that was abandoned. She ended up giving birth 3 days later and had 3 pups, but unfortunately one was stillborn and one passed the day after birth. The surviving baby was a sweet little boy. Long story short at 4 weeks old I had to separate the baby from his mother. So I thought it would be great for Trumpet to have a buddy again. They got along as if they had known each other for years! So I decided I couldn’t take baby Donald away from Trumpet. So I adopted him.
They have been together for 2 months now and they really do make a wonderful pair!!!!!
I also frequently foster and rescue guinea pigs. I just actually adopted out 9 rescues, 3 adult females and 6 babies.
In late August I came home to find 2 boxes in my driveway that contained 6 piggies. I could not believe how someone could just leave them in an open cardboard box and leave!
After taking them inside I realized that there were 3 females and 3 males. And they were not separated in the boxes.
Immediately I knew that 2 females were very pregnant. I could see the babies moving around. I took them all to the vet to be checked out and I was right about the 2 females being pregnant, and the one was extremely large and the vet said she felt 4. The second one felt like she was carrying one. Luckily the other female was not pregnant, and that was confirmed 3 weeks later just to be sure.