Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New here, got a new BABY CAVY TODAY!!!

TacoBellWinnieP

Cavy Slave
Hey guys! I'm new here, but I'm only relatively new to being a guinea mom. I have 2 boars, Winnie (like Winnie the pooh :D) who is 3 and I got from a shelter in December, and Taco (Taco Bell if he is actually a SHE) who I actually got today! Taco is roughly 3 weeks old, too young to be sold if you ask me, but I already love him to death:love::love:. I found Winnie on pet finder .com, and he is a chunky boy. He is mostly tan with a white nose and mouth, an American short hair. Taco, a calico Abyssinian, is a different story, what I call a sympathy impulse buy. Momma and I went into a small, family-owned pet store around lunch to “ooh” and “ah” at their newly born gerbils my friend told me about. Little did we know, the horror of how these animals were kept would shock us into the impulse buy. When we first walked in, it stunk so bad it was hard to breathe. To top it off, the girl running the store at the time, roughly 19, didn't know what the heck she was talking about. When she picked him up for us to pet him, she wasn't holding him right! SUPPORT THE BUM. Geez. >(. So you know those cages that are like islands in kitchens, but they're for animals? In one square, they had SIX bunnies, obviously not separated by gender. Taco was the last of his litter in his own little square(the squares were literally 1.5' X 1.5', no joke!). The other two had birds, but they were well cared for I have to admit. So these cages, and I'm not even exaggerating, had in them ONLY a water bottle, bedding, and a food dish. NO hay, NO hiding house, NO toys or chews. Really, people? C'mon, that's just awful. :(. While the girl was mis-guiding us on proper care, (luckily I know better) and strangling my little boy, I noticed another "cage."