Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pregnancy I have two pregnant females

buckleyboo

Cavy Slave
I am very new to cavy's and rescued 2 girls recently. Surprise. Both pregnant. I was told by the vet to seperate and am going to get supplies tommorrow to make cage bigger, as one is on the top shelf for now. The more pregant one seems ok, but other is restless trying to climb missing the other. Would it be kinder to make a big cage with divider or will that be worse for them to see each other as it will be months between the 2 of them, that they can be together. I am afraid of them sticking heads through to see each other but have the 9 square grates. Or would seperate cages be better. Help!

VoodooJoint

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator!
Cavy Slave
You o not need to separate them unless they are fighting. They will actually help care for each other's babies, comfort each other during the labors and being separated from each other causes excess stress at a time when stress levels should be as low as possible.

Rarely, the one that is less pregnant will eat the other's placenta after she gives birth which can cause early labor but, as I said, that isn't very common and can be totally avoided if you are around when the birth happens.

We have had several other members who had pregnant pigs at the same time with varying gestation states and had no problems with early, hormone induced labor caused by eating placenta

Silverbeat

Cavy Slave
I think you should make a big divided cage, but make sure you baby-proof it. Make the sides 10" high with cardboard and you can double-grid the divider so the squares are too small for babies to squeeze through.

skinnypigs

Cavy Slave
If you make a cage divider, just overlap grids so that the holes are way too small for anyone to fit through.

buckleyboo

Cavy Slave