Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New guinea pig owner seeking to do better for our piggies

blessedbeingmom

Cavy Slave
Hello, my name is Tricia, and I'm from south Mississippi. I am a pharmacist and my husband Matt is a stay-at-home, homeschooling father to our three children. Elizabeth is 9, Katie is 7 & Michael is 5. We recently bought our piggies from Petsmart but we honestly didn't know any better. They are the sweetest piggies, and we love them already. They are both males (yes we double-checked!) and they are named Skittles and Starburst.

We read up some on the guinea pigs via a book and a magazine we got from Petsmart (on a previous trip, before we bought the piggies), as well as a few library books, before obtaining our pets.

We didn't know that those weren't the best sources of information, but I am glad we read them so we at least knew to get two piggies. Also, we did buy the largest cage we could find at the pet store (but now know better). On an old mothering forum I used to post on, there was a saying "when you know better, you do better" which basically meant you did the best you knew at the time, but now that you know better, you can do better, and I imagine that applies to our piggies as well.
After having found this site and spending the past week or so reading here, we have made some changes and will soon be making some more changes.

1. We got rid of the vitamin drops for the water.
2. We learned which veggies to offer, and how to start offering veggies.
3. We learned to give our piggies as much hay as they want.
4. We learned to change their food and water out every day. After all, I wouldn't want to eat food or drink water that had been sitting around for a long time.