Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New

punkyb78

Cavy Slave
Hello everyone, I am new to the world of Guinea Pigs. I have to handsome boys and am looking for lots of advice. I appreciate any advice you may have for me because I am in need of lots and lots of help. I am looking into making a cage for my boys, right now they have a store bought one and I would love to expand in size to give them lots more room to play. However I am concerned about a couple of things. Today as I was cleaning my baby boys cage I found out that one of them is a bit of a jumper and jumped out of the box I was using to hold them while cleaning their cage. So Im wondering if he will be able to get out of one of those C&C cages. I would really love to create one of those for them. Thanks for any help you may be able to offer. :)

Toadies

Cavy Slave
Hi PunkyB, welcome to the forum. How deep was the box? The cubes are approximately 14x14 inches. My boys show no interest in going "over the top", but I don't have any females either. I do keep a lid on their cage because I have cats. The lid is easy to operate and adds some ridigity to the cage as a whole. It's also a handy place to set something down or to keep their "treat jar". You might start with one, as you can always remove it later if it's not needed.

LonePig

Cavy Slave
Welcome to the group Punky, if you need information on guinea pigs, this is a great place to find it. I recommend just browsing through posts when you have the time. Usually you'll find answers to questions you have, and those you haven't thought of yet. I've found so many great ideas just by browsing through all the posts and the great photos.