Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New to the family

• Thread starter halloweensmommy
  • Start date

halloweensmommy

Cavy Slave
Hi all,
We got a new member to our family Saturday. A guinea pig, we named Halloween.
I'm new to this, i never had a guinea pig before, actually growing up didn't have anything but outside dog or cat. Luckily my husband has had guinea pigs before.
I'm sure I'll be here asking lots of questions, and getting lots of information. If i put a question in the wrong place I apologize now.
After reading here i realize we shouldn't have gotten him at a pet store, but thats where I fell in love with him at. He is very scared, and when we try to hold him, he nips at us. So we are trying to work on this, getting him not to nip at us, any thoughts on this? I'm also trying to talk to him, so hes not so scared and hides all the time.

thank you,
Margie

envisionary333

Cavy Slave
If you got him from a pet store, he is probably quite young still and hasn't been properly socialized. Young piggies have a tendency to nibble on things to see if they are food or not, and he is probably still scared of people. Take it slow and give him lots of veggies to help him associate you with positive things. It will take time, but you will win him over eventually. Check in the "Diet and Nutrition" forum to find info on what to feed, and how often. Guinea Lynx :: A Medical and Care Guide for Your Guinea Pig is another great site to look through for more information. And when you are ready to find a friend for your little guy, you can try using (broken link removed) it is a great resource that lists animals up for adoption in your area.

Good luck, and welcome to the forum! :)

halloweensmommy

Cavy Slave
Thank you.