Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New to owning Cavvies. Would like some advice.

• Thread starter HappyCavvyowner
  • Start date

HappyCavvyowner

Cavy Gazer
Hello I am new to owning Guinea pigs. I have two currently and we havn't been together for very long I also have a Menagerie of other pets. Such as a cat and a bird. Now the bird and the guinea's seem to be getting along by chirping to one another. Here is a picture of everybody.

20150603_124833.jpg This is Spike. one of the two boars.20150603_124816.jpg ( a better veiw of spike)
20150527_111217.jpg Ame (japanese for Rain) My Green cheek Conure

20150603_124801.jpg Angel the other boar

1433354580833-2019945926.jpg And Indigo my feline companion.

The boys live together as they are brothers. and their cage is barren at this moment with the Exception of shavings which i plan to change out to something more appropriate. A water bottle a bowl for pellets and a salt lick which they really do not need. I have a shopping list on Petsmart.com under wishlist. and my main questions are...

1. What kind of bedding should I get besides Pine and other woods? I want to look into Hemp bedding.
  2. What hide away is the best hide away?
  3. Should I remove the salt lick they have in the cage?
  4. When is the best time to start handling them? I have had them for about two-three days now.
  5. is it okay for them to nibble on me? or not.
  6. What breed are they?

Last edited:

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
Yes, remove the salt lick. They shouldn't have it.

Hideys should have two doors -- nothing where a pig can get trapped by another pig.

Don't let them nibble. It can turn into a biting habit that's hard to break. Don't put your hands in front of their mouths, and make sure your hands don't smell like food.