Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Where can you find fleece for the cage?

Sweetywheety

Cavy Slave
FLEECE. Where can you find it? Do you use it in place of bedding? Do you let the pigs urinate and poop on it? How often does it need to be washed? Is it better than bedding? How much is it? Sorry about all the questions, but I kind of need to know. Thanks! -Jenna S.

Hi Jeanna,

I am rather new with the use of fleece, but can tell you that I have found it to be a real asset. It helps wick the urine away from the cavies and onto the bedding below. Keeps my boys dry.

I use CareFresh as my bedding, and I place patches of fleece in the area where the boys like to lay down.

I take my fleece out of the cage each day and shake it outdoors. I wash it twice a week so far.

I purchased some of my fleece at a fabric store, but you also purchase cheap fleece blankets at discount stores, and then cut them up to your desire measurements.

There are many who use fleece that covers their bedding completely, and this seems to really work for them.

I am really *sold* on using fleece.
debbie

Hi! I found cheap fleece here in Cali at Ross. They were about $5.00 each for pretty large blankets. I have a really large cage, so this is definitely cheaper for me. It would cost a whole lot for me to use strictly Carefresh.

I layer fleece over towels. I put Carefresh just in 2 corners where my girls tend to poop and pee. I spot clean these areas twice a day or so. Doing this, I only have to change everything once a week.

It works great for me!

Hey Corrine,

It was at Ross that I purchased a large fleece blanket for only $8.
Don't you love great deals?
Debbie