Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Fleece Looking to switch to fleece

GameOfCavies

Cavy Slave
Like the title says, I'd like to switch to fleece bedding for my guinea pigs. I just wanted to ask a couple questions. Should I get a liner specifically made for this, or would just fleece blankets with something like a towel under it for the absorbent layer work?

Comely Guineas

Cavy Slave
i use 2-3 layers of normal bath towels with fleece layer on top. works just fine for me

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
People generally have more trouble controlling odor with towels underneath than with u-haul bedding or mattress padding. But you certainly don't need liners made specifically for the purpose.

new2piggs

Cavy Slave
I'm pretty new to this, having only had our piggies for a little over 4 weeks but we are using fleece with towels underneath. I change the towels and fleece every 3-4 days and spot clean every day (usually twice a day). I also have lots of 10in x 10in pee pads that I change every day. I've noticed no odors at all (except when they pee in the cardboard barn).

Angela Thompson

Cavy Slave