Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

help pregnant piggy

fbiguy007

Cavy Slave
well i am new to this i have had these about 6 months well i thought my pig (brownie)was just getting fat because she ate alot but today as i was holding her i felt the babies move i was like wwaaaaaaaaa

how do you know whenit's almost time for the babies to arive and what should i feed brownie i feed them carrots and pellet food?

any help please plus any thing i should expet or be aware of should i remove the male who the whole time we thought was a girl thank for any help

thanks vince

You should feed her alfalfa hay and check out this site. It explains everything.https://www.guinealynx.com/breeding.html Keep us posted on her progress.

Oh, you shouldent feed any pig carrots every day because they have too much calcium or something. I'll check to see what it is and get back to you.

Wow! I can't believe they were together 6 months before she got pregnant!

Yes, you should remove the male before she gives birth. Female piggies can get pregnant right after giving birth. Also, you will need to separate the male baby piggies from their mother when they are 3 weeks old so they don't get her pregnant (!) You will have boys in 1 cage, girls in another. Otherwise, you'll end up with 100 babies...

Also, if your female piggy is over 8 months old, she might have problems giving birth
so check with your vet about this.

You should be feeding your pigs a variety of vegetables as well as hay. Pellets and hay are important too. See https://www.guinealynx.com/healthycavy.html#diet for detailed
info on what to feed them. With carrots, the most you should feed them is 1 baby carrot everyday.