Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

I'm new to this and have a few questions, about if my Guinea Pig is happy or not?(:

iiJoeWeeii

Cavy Slave
Hello, everyone! I just wanted to see the BEST ways to know if my guinea pig is happy or not. I've had him for about a week now,and he's been acting pretty happy to me. But sometimes he just runs away or hides in his cardboard tunnel. Whenever I try to come in and talk to him. So I just wanted a few pointers on how to get him to love me. And Wheek when I come on the room.:)

Gforcepiggies

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Welcome!
One thing to do is just sit by the cage and talk quietly to him, and he'll come out and do his normal thing. Another pig is the best way for pigs to be happy, a win-win thing! A big cage is next on the list, being held, having veggies and floor time are next! :)
My pigs have been with me about 6 months now, and sometimes still scuttle away into a hidey, but when I kneel and look into the cage, the are bold and happy and stiff my nose.
Popcorning tells you if they are happy, it s a moving in which the pig jumps into the air and kind of twists, it looks like popcorn popping since they do it so fast and at unexpected moments!

Welcome again and We'd love to see some pigtures of your buddy! What's his name? :)

bubblepig

Cavy Slave
Since @Gforcepiggies already mentioned some bonding ways,I have some other things to mention. :)
Unless he prefers being a loner,(not accepting ANY other pigs) you could get him a friend? Pigs are herd animals and do not exactly bond with humans the same way a dog,cat,or horse would do. You could also get hima C&C cage. Do show us pigtures of your furry friend!

Rach84

Cavy Slave