Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C Alternatives Play pen as a cage?

taylorcha4

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
This seems to be a very controversial topic for many piggy parents out there. Please be aware that i am a beginner at this and i am trying my best to provide for the well being of my piggy babies.

Long story short, my boyfriend and i brought home two baby guinea pigs. The owner asked us to pick them up early because her cage wasnt big enough for them so we ended up bringing them home. My boyfriend and i have been planning to build a 2x3 or a 2x4 C&C cage before their arrival but the previous owners were in a rush so our plans changed. We went to the store and couldn't find storage cube grids anywhere.
Due to their early arrival, we had to work with whatever resources we had. Our lame SUPER WAL MART didnt carry them nor did our local Target. We ended up bringing home a playpen for small animals for temporary but after setting up the playpen, our minds changed. We liked the playpen idea. Because they are just babies one playpen was alright. The grids are 13.5L x 9H. Normal C&C grids are 14x14. Is 9 inches high enough? Regardless i dont think its possible for them to climb out. The grids are all verticle. And dont worry, i picked up another playpen to connect it to make it bigger for those worried about the pen being too small once they get bigger. Should be as big as a 2x4 once connected. My boyfriend and i will be picking up the coroplast this week to build their base. They've been home for a good week now.

Here is a picture of what my cage looks like as of right now, coroplast base will be added soon:
cupcake bubble 2.jpg

YourSoJelly

Cavy Slave
That looks great! At least in my opinion, I think you did great for a short term home! I love the fleece, really adorable!

MummyOf5Piggies