Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Greetings from Dallas!

CKraus

Cavy Slave
I am very new to Guinea Pigs and Dallas so both are exciting haha.. I just got my guinea pig today and I have a few questions.. how often should I feed/water/clean him. I made a 2x3 C&C cage is that big enough for one? Anyways I will post pictures soon! Thanks in advance for the questionslol

Welcome, You should feed him fresh veges everyday (It helps if you make a feeding timetable! I have one if you would like to see). And you should also feed him 1/8 or 1/4 a cup a day of pellets,You can either feed half in the morning and half in the evening or all in the morning or all in the evening, though it would probably be better to do half in the morning and half in the evening. He should also have good hay available to him 24/7. Guinea Pigs also need extra Vitamen C in their deit (Veges are a great way to give it to them) because they do not store their own.

He should always have water.
Yes a 2x3 c&c cage is big enough for one, I found it not enough space to let my girl run around in so upgraded it to a 2x4 +2x1 L shape and she loves it heaps! If you have more space then I would say give him a bigger cage ( It is what he will spend most of his life in!) or if you don't then a 2x3 is the minimum size for one or two piggies.

Piggies are social animals and are happier in groups, are you thinking about adopting a friend for him sometime in the near-ish future? You can get another boy to go with him, I have 3 boars living together in harmony.

Would he be unhappy without another piggy?
Also what veggies are best to give them. Thanks again :D

Also as far as placement does it scare them if they are on floor? Or should the cage be more waist level?