Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C Alternatives would this work as a cage?

ShyKiss

Cavy Slave
ok i am a newbie when it comes to guinea pigs, but am doing all my research before i got buy anything!

i have a question all the cages at my local pet store are to small to have more then one in and so far what i have read is that it is best to have at least 2 cause they are better with others of their own kind, and much happier, i looked ok the site for that linked to this site to buy c&c kits but i can't order online cause i dont have a way of paying for it.

but i did happen to notice my pet store has a play pen for little critters it's 9sq feet and is cheaper then even their biggest cage 34 bucks vs 120. they also sell a pen cover for it that is water proof that you can put either over top or under neath the pen. so my question is would this work as a cage for my still to come new friend? or even if i bought say a small plastic kids swimming pool for the bottom? i want to make sure they will have enough room without breaking my budget or having to drive out of town. so would this work?

Kim37040

Cavy Slave
Not sure if it would work as a cage, but I would look closely that the size of the grids to make sure they are not so big that the piggy's head could get stuck and get injured.

Deb's4Pigs

Cavy Slave
10.5 sq. ft. for two or 30" x 50" is preferred for two. Is it a midwest cage? Those are OK if you add the addition.

All these editings and I still forgot to say Welcome!! Sorry!!

Last edited:

ShyKiss

Cavy Slave