Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pregnancy I think she pregnant?

F34RLESS

Cavy Slave
Hope someone can help me with my guinea pig, as im new to this. Not sure if she pregnant, what else i need to do if she is. Do i need to separate her from the male? I realise her tummy is getting bigger and now she hardly run around now. Always stay in one spot. Here are the picture below :~

CIMG3220.jpg

CIMG3221.jpg

suzilovespiggie

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator
Cavy Slave
Your piggie does look pregnant. Is there a reason she is housed with a male? They should be seperated as soon as possible. If she is not pregnant you do not want her getting pregnant. If she is already pregnant, she will be bred shortly after she gives birth, which is not healthy for her. Plus if she gives birth to any males, they will need to be removed at 3 weeks or they will breed to the mother and any sisters.

I see that you are new and may not know that this site is a no breeding, pro-rescue site. It does have the very best infor you will ever need on the care of your pigs. I myself have never had any babies so I cannot help you there. There are many threads that deal with pregnancies and guinealynx is a great medical site for GP's.
Please take the time to read what this great site is all about. Learning why you should not be breeding your pigs and why adoption is so important. Plus how to have the happiest piggie ever.

rabbitsncavyluv

Cavy Slave
Why are you housing her with a male?

Are you intentionally breeding?

She does look very pregnant. If you keep her with the male while she gives birth, you will backbreed her and make it a higher risk she will die. Please read Breeding Guinea Pigs
https://www.guinealynx.info/breeding.html

Plus they can carry two litters at once. You need to remove the male so he doesn't impregnate her again.