Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Rescued Guinea Pig Had Six Babies

Gecko

Cavy Slave
Hi, I'm not new to rescue but I am new to guinea pig rescue. I rescued an aging sow who indeed turned out to be pregnant again in a back-to-back pregnancy. I got her after her owner went into a nursing home. We found homes for the boar and the younger sow (not pregnant).

Gigi is an orange American with dark eyes. The boar was an Abysinnian roan. Gigi very quietly had six babies in the space of 10 minutes on February 4th right after I looked in on her that morning. Fortunately, she seemed to be a pro at it and the pups were mostly all running around. Except one of the tiniest guinea pigs I'd ever seen, a little runt that seemed to have developmental delays in motor skills and strength in her hindquarters. I monitored the situation, gave Ru-Runt lots of one-on-one time with Mom, and I confess that I supplemented her diet with fresh goat's milk. I couldn't get on the forum to ask about it, and goats milk is something I always have on hand for kitten rescue. Now Ru-Runt is a happy, spunky, energetic youngster who is still less than half the size of the bigger pups.

I took the one boar out of the group at age three weeks--he was ready to mate, seriously! But we nipped that in the bud. Of the five girls, one is white with red eyes. I am confused about the lethal white syndrome, because some sites say there is no such thing as an albino guinea pig, and that's what she looks like--an albino. Her teeth seem fine, she is the biggest pup of all, and she is very strong and active. She seems to be able to see and hear fine.