Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Awaiting the arrival of my new babies

asapltl

Cavy Slave
I am new to guinea pigs (actually still waiting to pick them up - getting them from someone who no longer can keep them) but I am so excited about bringing them into my home. I have two children (aged 5 and 7) who will be helping with the care and feeding of them. We have plenty of space to house guinea pigs in C & C cages, and have found places locally to get the cube systems. My husband works for a company that uses plenty of coroplast and is able to bring some home. We have about half of our living room that is able to be used for guinea pig cages (strange set up in the living room as half of it is raised about two and a half feet from the floor). We are going to use fleece and towel (sewn together - done extensive reading on this site).

I am still reading this site as much as I can to learn everything I can about these cuties. As I get everything set up I will post pictures of the cages and the piggies.

PixieStix

Cavy Slave
Welcome. Good luck with your new piggies, they're great little animals. It's good to have your children help out with age-appropriate tasks, just make sure you are also involved with the care and the pigs are always taken care of (which it sounds like you'll be doing). We'll love to see pictures when you post them!

asapltl

Cavy Slave