Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Thinking of Getting Rid of Cages Altogether...

Cherish

Cavy Slave
My boys have a very large cage that we made for them, but they are only confined to it at night or when my husband and I are both out (which isn't very often, as I am a writer and work from home).

Most of the time, we just leave the door open and let them have the run of most of the flat; they are all house-trained, we don't have any exposed wires anywhere, and they love being able to run anywhere they please.

However, they all wheek to be let out sometimes, as they're used to being allowed to run in a bigger space, and one in particular chews the bars, and has already broken his top teeth on the bars twice.

My husband and I will be moving into a larger house in a couple of months time, and the house we are currently looking into has a box room, big enough for a small bedroom, and we were thinking of just letting this room be a "guinea pig" room.
We're thinking about getting rid of cages altogether, and just letting them have the run of that room at night and when we're not home.
(Plus the extra space will mean that we might be able to try adopting some more boys into the herd!)

It sounds ideal in theory, but is this practical?
Has anyone here ever tried anything like this before?

newpiggiemommy

Cavy Slave
I have heard of people having a room just for the guinea pigs. They get free range in that room, but I don't know if it will be the same to them as free range in the whole flat. They are going to want to be where they can hear and see you! Keep that in mind!

Jennicat

Cavy Slave