Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Behavior Picking up new girl, and she snaps at me?!?

Hollyberries008

Cavy Slave
So we picked up our new lady piggy today. She's 1 years old, and we have her in the cage she came in until we have the quarantine over with. When i picked her up at the girls house she took her out and i held her, and we held her when we got home and made up the cage. We put her in there gave her some hay and veggies, and I just went to try and take her out, and she snapped at me!! :weepy:

Now I'm still fairly new to this as i've only been a owner now for a few months, but I've had in total 5 pigs and none have done this. I know my boys, and Meena my other girl still get excited when i try to pick them up, but they have never snapped at me. I'm scared to try it again. Is this something that will pass once she gets used to us, or has she been mistreated? I'm sure she's scared, and it's a new place, and needs to get used to us, but i figured she was ok since she was ok with us while we held her before, and being with people for the last year. I'm ok with waiting to hold her, but i'm just scared she will be like this forever. I will give her some time. Anyone have this with their pigs before? When i put my finger up to her nose she sniffs, and gently bites a little. Maybe a hard one, or two, but nothing that opens skin.

Also with Meena being only 5 months old is that going to be an issue when it's time to introduce them together?

Thanks for your time all!

Last edited by a moderator:

sarahspins

Cavy Slave