Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Aggression Is this bullying?..New Mom! Please help!

Vasundhara

Cavy Slave
Hi!

It has been exactly 24 hours since I became Mom to two beautiful girls - Sakura and Caramel. This is my first time being a cavy Mom so I am feeling a little worried and anxious about the behaviour my girls are exhibiting!

They are both 58 days old and were well cared for by their owner. However, he is moving out of the country so had to put them up for adoption. Both of them used to live in a pretty big cage - 4 ft x 4 ft - so I bought it from the owner in the hope that it will make the transition easier on them. It has taken me one day to move the cage into my place during which they had to live in one of the store cages..

Sakura is clearly the more dominant one and has also been less scared when she sees me. I have had to cover their store cage with a translucent material so that they felt safe enough to eat. Otherwise they just stay huddled and frozen in one corner. I have heard Caramel whining a lot at regular intervals during the day so I thought it might be because she is afraid or nervous of the surroundings. However, right now while I was sitting across from the cage, I saw three instances where Sakura would approach Caramel and Caramel would start whining. I have been observing them for the past hour (they can't see me because of the material I have draped on their cage) and during this entire duration, Caramel has just been hunched in one corner while Sakura continues to explore. Sakura is not stopping Caramel from eating. Isaw both of them eating from the same bowl at the same time. However, Caramel then goes to her corner and every time Sakura approaches here, she starts whining.