Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Sick Guinea Pig Isn't Chewing His Food Properly and Pooping Less

dirah93

Cavy Slave
Hi All,

This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm doing this right. I've adopted my 2 year old boar, Rocket over a month ago and things were going great! He was always an outgoing piggy from the start, eating from my hand and wheeking loudly the day after I brought him home. The thing that concerned me the first week was that he wasn't eating much hay, only his veggies (bell peppers, romaine lettuce, cucumbers, celery) and pellets. I have decided to cut out veggies from his diet and gave him vitamin C supplements temporarily, and soon enough he started eating his hay (Oxbow Timothy Hay).

After a week, I've adopted a 5 week old boar named Flash and they got along great, hardly any issues with them (of course I've quarantined the piggies for 2 weeks before introducing them).