Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

First trip to the vet

Piggy Pip's Mom

Cavy Slave
Hello, I'm a new pig mommy to Pip. He's approximately 3 months old (I think...according to the store where we purchased him) and I have scheduled his first appt at the vet for next week. I thought it would be a good idea for him to get a check up. I am a newbie but want to do everything possible to ensure he is healthy and well cared for...I already know he's loved to pieces by me!! I plan on getting help from the vet's assistant with clipping his little nails for the first time, kinda nervous and don't want to hurt him.

Any tips for first trips to the vet? Any questions I should ask?

Thanks for your feedback!

Is th vet experienced with cavies? It's important that you screen the vet to make sure they know what they are doing. Some questions to ask (which I compiled together from (broken link removed) and (broken link removed) ) are:
-How many cavies do you see and treat each month?
-What is the extent of your medical training regarding cavies?
-Who would you recommend for an after hours emergency?
-What antibiotic do you prefer to use on adult guinea pigs with a URI (upper respiratory infection)? (Baytril, Doxycycline, and Chloramphenicol are good choices. If they list any penicillin based drugs, hang up the phone -- after pointing them toward some of the fine reference books listed below.)
-Can Baytril be used on young pigs? ("We know the answer is that it is not recommended, there are safer alternatives for young pigs.")