Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

General Beginner pig keeper here, please give advice!

Stargazer

Cavy Gazer
About a month ago, I got my first guinea pig. I can't remember what breed she is, but Cricket is blonde and white and has long, smooth fur. She was about four weeks when I got her, so she should be about 2 months old now. She's grown quite a bit since I got her already...is this what is feels like to be a mother?!?!? :|

This isn't the very first pig my family has owned, but it's the first one that is exclusively mine. My sister has had three pigs in the past, but never really knew how to take care of them properly. I'm here to make sure I know as much as I possibly can about guinea pigs ASAP.

My first issue is, well...financial. As a 17-year-old, it's hard for me to find a real job. I work as a lifeguard during the summer and Tim Horton's a few times a week year-round. The combination of these jobs makes pretty decent money, but not quite enough to juggle pig stuff and college stuff.

My first problem would be the cage. Cricket's cage is about 2ft×2ft (30cm×30cm) and is the same cage used for the last three pigs, so it's quite old. I'm hoping to get her a new one, so if you guys could recommend some sizes, that would be fantastic. I'm currently using simple paper bedding (I've heard other kinds cause respiratory problems?) layed down about an inch thick. She has an edible pigloo, made of alfalfa and honey, since past pigs have gotten sick from chewing on the plastic ones. She chews on it quite often and seems to enjoy it. Also in her cage is a simple food bowl, a water bottle and a salt lick. She also has a carrot-shaped chew toy weaved out of wood and hay, which she's eaten almost all of. If you guys have any suggestions for what else to put in her cage, that would be fantastic.