Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Babies/Pups Guinea Pig Given Birth

laura_lewis

Cavy Gazer
Hi,

I had GP’s as a child but this is my first time having them as an adult, I bought 2 sows from a local pet shop 7 weeks ago yesterday and yesterday one of them gave birth to 3 pups. The pups seemed fine yesterday and were moving about the hutch following mum, I took the other GP to get sexed and they said she was definitely female so I must’ve been sold the other one pregnant. My question is just what do I do with these pups to give them the best chance? I’ve put in additional pellets, hay, water and fresh fruit and veg. Is there anything else I need to do? Also I read online I should be weighing them, I think by looking at them one is quite a bit smaller than the other 2 so I’m keen to monitor that to see if I need to intervene. Basically ANY help would be appreciated as I obviously didn’t think this would happen but am more than happy to have additional piggies! 2 of the babes pictured below!

Thanks!

Attachments

IMG_4621.jpeg
Congratulations on your new additions. First things first, baby proof the cage. Depending on your setup its imperative that you block any way out they could possibly have. The grids in a C&C cage can be easily escaped by a baby pig, so it's necessary to block the bottom six inches with cardboard or coroplast. I used binder clips and cardboard when I had babies, and it remained on the cage for at least 6-8 months.

Sexing the babies is important, but it can wait a couple of weeks. Any males MUST be removed from the main cage at the three week mark, as they are fully capable of impregnating a female.

A little extra parsley for extra calcium as they grow would be great, but only until six months old.