Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Blog The hurt I feel about all the pigs I find needing homes.

Blog entry from old forum

Amanda Marie

Cavy Slave
Ugh, Does anyone else hate finding pigs on craigslist and things with their sad circumstances? It makes me want to rescue all of them and take care of them. Some posts make me so angry and others utterly break me, There is a person selling guinea pigs as a food option for dogs for the "raw food diet"... There are like 12 on the post and it hurts so much that people do this...... Also seeing guinea pigs being thrown out due to them buying them on impulse and ending up realizing that they don't want them. or the fact that their kids have "grown distance or lost interest" ugh is so frustrating. I am a college student and no matter what i do i have the time to care for my boys. I don't know, i recently found a pig post of an adorable long haired teddy, IDK if that's the breed but he is adorable and i feel that he will probably go to a kid and its so heart breaking i want him so bad, but its just a want to help them. I will be graduating college soon and hopefully starting my career doing HR work for a insurance company. One of my life goals as my passion is animals is to start a guinea pig rescue and help those on craigslist. I really hope that this little guy and all the others in my area find goof homes..... Does anyone else hate this as much as i do? :sad:

SquigglyPigs

Cavy Slave
Yes!! I also hope to someday have a guinea pig rescue. I need to stop looking at Craigslist because it just makes me sad. People need to realize that animals are not toys that you can get rid of when you're bored or sick of caring for them. I can't wait until I purchase a house to rescue even a few of the poor piggies being mistreated.