Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C Do CnC cages need the loft?

SonOfOdin

Cavy Slave
I have 2 pigs, their both a tad over weight. I want to get them out of this store bought cage they have been in for awhile now and let them get roaming. Im wondering if i should buy the loft or is it even needed. Im new to CnC cages and going to start saving up. Any suggestions please??? Thanks!

lost_lover

Cavy Slave
They are not needed and it just depends on the guinea pig if they are even going to use them. I got a loft for mine and in this case I am glad I did. The two boys are still 'working things out' in their new home, only one of them can figure out the ramp so he just goes up there to get away for a while. He has his own pellets, hay and water up there.

MrWhistles

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
How do you know they're overweight? The healthy weight of a guinea pig greatly varies. You don't necessarily need a loft. I'd rather avoid using one myself because ramps can easily get blocked and 1 pig could try to guard a loft.

Artista

Cavy Slave
I don't have a loft. Just spend the money you would on it to make the cage bigger for running around room. Loft is cute and all but it's basically a hidey spot and well you can put hideys on the ground floor.

JenNPiggys

Cavy Slave
I was just at a friends house checking out my new baby. She has 8 piggys in 2 cages. Both cages have lofts and EVERY pig uses the ramp. After watching all those piggys running up and down the ramps wheeking and having fun I'm so glad I bought a ramp and can't wait for it to get here! I think that it just depends on your pig. If you want to try a loft, just make it fun. Give treats for going up and have surprises at the top to encourage use. :)

Traysea

Cavy Slave