Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello everyone...Joined due to an emergency

Clara84

Cavy Slave
Hello everyone and I apologize to contact you with such a dilemma. I have a wonderful sweet guinea pig boy named Brownie. I have had him for 2 years now in September. I used to work as a dog walker and I used to pet sit from my home.

I recently (about 3 weeks ago) we noticed him wheezing at night. We only noticed because the noise would wake us either in the middle of the night or early morning. I have never had a problem with his health before. He has a very healthy appetite. There has been no change in his weight or personality.

We also have a rabbit who does not share a cage or anythng with him but they have co existed in the same home for the 2 years. Now the reason I mention i have done pet sitting is because I was looking up if there was such a thing as a guinea pig wheezing. I read he could have a URI which comes from bordetella virus. I know dogs carry this and since these dogs left he has been not as vocal as usual. He used to squeal a lot whenever we came home or heard a bag rustle or when he wants food.

After having these dogs for 2 weeks they went home (in June) and thats when he stopped his loud squealing. I assumed he wasn't used to being around dogs and became more timid in his squealing. But he was not afraid of the dogs. He does squeal a bit when he is hungry or chirps when hes happy walking around. He runs around the house and he is happy and active and does not seem to be in pain or anything significant except the wheezing which is usually followed by a cough and that is when he ceases the wheezing.