Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Feet I think my new guy has Bumblefoot

sakee

Cavy Slave
I noticed today that one of my guinea pigs foot pads isswollen with a scab. I saw this page and it looks just like this:https://www.guinealynx.info/pododermatitis.html
I just got him on Sunday and this is my first time owning a GP. I don't know if he had it when I got him. I didn't look him over then and was checking out his feet today thinking about trying to trim his nails. I should take him to a vet. I am wondering how much treating this can cost. I was reading about Xrays and such, it sounds $$$

I found a highly rated vet that is inexpensive, but they won't have hours until tuesday. Can I treat it myself until then, or should I look for someone else?

Hello,
My guy Elmer had bumblefoot, we had him treated by the vet, but because he was pretty old already he died a few months later. However, I was able to treat him at home to keep him comfortable for a while, and that should be enough until your piggy's vet visit.

I bought a small little container of epsom salts, dissolved some in warm water twice a day, and soaked his little foot in a sauce dipping bowl. After 5 minutes I rinsed it and dabbed it with polysporin. Give it a try and see how it goes.

Oh- Make sure you're holding on tight- I let go of him a couple times and he flung the bowl (and water) off the counter.

sounds easy enough to try, I could use a pill bottle maybe

You can start treating him as @YayPiggies outlined, but do get him to the vet. He may need antibiotics.