Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi! :)

1979sunshine

Cavy Slave
My name is Sarah. I'm the proud new owner of two guineas - Winnie and Penguin. :) My kids named them... What can I say? They're Wonder Pets lovers! :silly: They piggies are about 6 months old.

I am completely new to being a guinea pig owner, so I'm trying to learn as quickly as I can. They came to us from my BFF who is pregnant, going to school FT, and has a very active toddler. She wasn't able to give them the love and attention they craved, so she asked us to take them. My husband Brandon was the biggest nay-sayer when I first brought it up, but once he saw them, he was smitten. I have two daughters - Arianna 3yo and Leyna, almost 7yo. They think the guineas are the best things ever born. :love: Love at first sight. :love:

The piggies came to me what I can only assume was supposed to be a ferret cage. It was 3 stories and metal wire flooring. My friend gave me some fleece to cover it, but the girls would hide under it after 15 minutes back in a clean cage, and have bare wire floor again. I started to look up other options and came across this forum. Sooooo glad I did! I had no idea what we were using was so wrong. :( I just ordered the coro tray and a couple spare pieces (to make a "kitchen"), and hubby is going out to get the grids this afternoon. I want to get these guinea pigs in a proper cage ASAP! (Making a 2x4 grid cage for the 2 girls.)