Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Size Cage renovations

DaisyLily

Cavy Star, Photo Contest Winner
Cavy Slave
Yesterday I got bored and had some extra coroplast so I decided to upgrade my two piggies cage. It started out as a 2x6 L shape with a 1x4 loft then a 5x3 with a 1x3 loft and finally it is a 3x6 with a 1x3 loft. I think this will be the final size(maybe?). I will post pictures in my gallery soon. Has anybody else changed their cage lately?

thebeachdreamer

Cavy Slave
LOL!! I have changed my cage 5 times in 2 weeks....I'm a newbie and I haven't even posted pictures because I can't decide how I want it. It started out as a 2x5, then a 2x5 with a 2x2 loft, then a 3x5 with a 1x2 loft, then a L shape...one side 2x6 and the side that made the L was a 2x5 with a 2x3 kitchen inside (took up my W H O L E office).

My girls are so funny, they are very curious and just hang out and check out what I am doing....then when I finish and get it re-decorated they run laps from one side to the other like race-car drivers!

I finally finished it today and I think I really like this. It is an L (one side 2x6 then bend is 2x5 (2x3 of it is kitchen). The only addition I might add is a hay loft, but for now the hay is working in the kitchen. I just think they would enjoy being able to dive in it :)

Fortunately I found a sign guy who has a small shop and is selling me the coroplast sheets at $13. I've been back 3 times (he calls me the Guinea Pig Lady) They are all cut to pieces and re-taped a hundred times. I wanted black from the beginning and he didn't have it. He just called me today and said he could get me 2 sheets. YAAAY

I am a pro at it now (plus he said he'd cut it and score it for me this time since I keep coming back:) so I am excited that I'll have it all set up and ready for pictures by this weekend!