Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Coroplast alternative? (asked for the 1000th time)

Tergale

Cavy Slave
I know you've heard it before so I apologize before hand.

I plan on building a cage for new guinea pigs soon. I've read that using wood as a base is fine if rapped in a plastic but what would be the best method of doing this and should I still be concerned about them getting at the grid or should I build the base to have sides if possible?

Thank you for your help I admit I am very new to this.

mochaviolino

Cavy Slave
How to build an alternative C&C type cage

You can use linoleum, peel 'n stick tiles. Just make sure it's easy to clean and unlikely to collect/hide dust, mashed poo, dried urine, etc.

It would be a good idea to use grids or some other wire enclosure in addition to the side walls since some pigs like to jump. The coroplast sides on my cage are about 6-7" tall, but when they stand against it (during salad time), they look like they could jump or fall out. I wouldn't risk it, which is why they're surrounded by grids.

Tergale

Cavy Slave
The cage will have side grid and top I am just a little confused on how to go about with the bottom. Could I use the linoleum tiles and put bedding ontop of that and use more linoleum to form a 6-8" against the grid?

Thank you for your help

Tergale

Cavy Slave
Ok Saturday was the day everything was done and I posted my welcome thread here yesterday. Thanks again to all the info and help that I was able to find here. I could use some tips/advice on my cage and with a couple questions.