Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Skin Problems Dandruff/scabbing! Mites? Fighting? (And nail clipping help?)

Twolilpigs

Cavy Slave
Hi!
I am new to the world of guinea pigs, so I need some help!
My friend's sister is going away to college and she needed to rehome her pigs, so I took them in a few weeks ago.
They are both males around a year old
I let them out and let one run around while I brushed the other. Unfortunately, I noticed that one of them had a lot of dandruff and scabbing!
The other one had no dandruff or scabbing whatsoever.
I do see them get into some scuffles, so I'm wondering if the scabs could be caused by the alpha pig?
I contacted their previous owner she said that she never brushed them or trimmed their nails and that the two do "fight sometimes"
I've gotten myself into a big mess.
Also, their nails are really overgrown!
I don't want to stress them out because they've only been with me for about two weeks but it's really a problem.
Any tips on trimming their nails?
It's weird because only one of them has overgrown nails. The other one (without skin issues) has pretty short nails.

Some pics of the skin issues (sorry for poor quality)

There are a few scabs, but this one was by far the biggest
Dandruff/scabbing! Mites? Fighting? (And nail clipping help?)
This is what came out when I combed through it
And this is what the skin looks like

Some pigs' nails grow quickly, others not so much. I have two senior sows, both at least five years old, and I only have to trim their nails about every 3-4 months. But my last senior sows required trimming at least once a month.