Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Animal Welfare Sis in law wants to get one pig, help

Lisatjuhh

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new in being a cavy slave.
I have had my 4 guinea pigs for about 6 months, and thanks to this forum I can say that I know so much more about them now.

But straight to the point. My sister in law loves my pigs and she wants to have a piggy too. Only the problem is, she wants one piggy and I already told her that's no good, need to get at least two. But she won't listen, she thinks two is a lot more work than one. And she had as a child at home only one pig at a time.
So my question: how do I get her to understand that she needs to get at least two pigs?

And then her cage she wants for them, it's way to small, 75 centimetres long and 45 centimetres wide.
I don't want to sound so bossy towards her and say that that's no good either.
How to tell her?

Please help me, all I can think is: poor piggy [emoji22]

This is the cage:
5ba6e8883e05157dcbdb3be55e5c86cf.jpg

Sorry if my English isn't perfect, I'm Dutch.
And is this the right place to ask this?

Lisatjuhh

Cavy Slave
Suggest to her that she read the following info:

-- https://www.guinealynx.info/healthycavy.html
-- https://www.guinealynx.info/emergency.html
-- www.cavyspirit.com
-- the stickies at the tops of the main forums here
-- https://www.guineapigcages.com/forum...us-Plants-List for what you can feed and how often
-- https://www.guineapigcages.com/forum...ur-guinea-pigs!

Thanks for the info, I'll try my best.
But she's stubborn, so I think she will still end up with one pig in a really small cage unfortunately.
One thing is that I know she will take the pig out a lot. But that's still not enough.

Eric580

Cavy Gazer