Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Need Tips for Cages and Bedding

Roxyl

Cavy Slave
Hi guys. As we all know Christmas is around the corner.

Currently I am debating saving up to switch over to a C&C cage with fleece or just keep my Midwestern one that uses Carefresh. I have heard that using fleece is much more inexpensive and easier to clean than Carefresh, and the C&C cages look very appealing. Should I make the switch?

Next, I am probably going to go ahead and get fleece sooner or later. I'll need some tips though as I am a newbie guinea pig owner. General tips would be helpful. Mostly looking for tips on how to clean the fleece, what to use as the absorbent layer below, what kind of fleece to get, how to set it up... things like that. Links to things like hand vacuum-cleaners or something would be very useful too.

Last I am looking for some toys for my guinea pigs to enjoy because right now they are lacking, and they deserve a Christmas gift! Please post links for toys that your piggie enjoys that are relatively affordable (20 dollars or less)

Thanks so much!! I love this website~

lissie

Cavy Slave
You can use fleece in midwest cage. It might have to be cleaned more often.
You can also use carefresh in C&C cages.

Here's everything you need to know about fleece.
https://www.guineapigcages.com/forum/threads/21568-The-Fleece-Project-The-Study

Good absorbent material to use under fleece:
Wood pellets: https://www.guineapigcages.com/forum/threads/107419-3-full-weeks-of-wood-pellets

Uhaul pads: https://www.guineapigcages.com/forum/threads/58123-Review-UHaul-blanket

My pigs never play with toys. If you'd like to spend money on thing they'll play with, buy them tunnel and things they can run through. Mine like plastic footstool.

See this thread for places to buy materials to build C&C cage.