Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Pellets How often do they need pellets, or do they need them at all?

Krisco88

Cavy Slave
OK, so I am new to this. I have hay, pellets and take veggies up regularly.
When they first got here I was taking veggies up twice a day. I have noticed they were not eating the pellets.

I reduced veggies to once a day in hopes they would eat the pellets. They still dont eat them.
Are pellets a NEED or will they be ok with just the hay and veggies?

Right now veggies are carrots and kale.

The pellets they have are the same pellets I put in saturday when I changed the bedding.

Last edited by a moderator:

Aleks

Cavy Slave
They should have 1/8-1/4 cup of pellets per pig per day. (Plain Alfalfa based if under 1 year, and plain Timothy based if 1 year or older.)
If you filled the bowl all the way with pellets, then that may be why they have some left.
Pellets should be a part of their daily diet unless they can't have them for medical reasons. Pellets are where they get all of the extra vitamins and minerals that they need.

You need to give them more of a variety in veggies than that, though.
Kale should only bed fed 1-2 times a week as it has too much calcium and is very high in Vit. A. 1 small-med baby carrot per pig per day is ok.
Some good veggies to feed daily are Red/Green leaf lettuce, Radicchio, Green bell peppers, wheat grass, cherry tomatoes (1-2 per pig per day).
Here's a great nutrition chart that will help you pick what to feed them and how often: https://www.guineapigcages.com/foru...vy-Nutrition-Charts-amp-Poisonous-Plants-List

Remember to introduce new veggies into their diets slowly and one at a time. You don't want to upset their digestive systems.