Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie Here!

pumpkinpigg

Cavy Gazer
Hello :eek: I'm new here :) I will get two guinea pigs soon (I've been Asking since the age of 8 or something,I am now 12.) And I have a lot of questions, I know only alot of stuff about hamsters, cats and some other pets ( I have 3 cats, 1 kitten, 1 middle aged, and the mother of the kitten) We usually don't "buy" animals, because that's just kinda wrong... so... What is actually adopting? do you pay for the pet or do you get it free? (i don't get it because people say adopting is free, and some say its paying) Here are my most important questions:

-How do I see if they are ill?
-How do I know how old they are without asking the owner/seller
-Which breed is the best for me?
-Do guinea pigs survive VERY HOT weather almost everyday? (Here where I live it gets to 40 ° rarely higher, in autm : 29 ° and in winter 19-23°) but inside in our house it is almost always cool....
-Do guinea pigs and cats get along?

That's it... please someone answer ): (i live in morocco.)

Guinepig

Cavy Slave
Welcome! If your pig is injured, it may squeal, limp, blink alot (if eye is hurt),

Here is a list of things that could mean your guinea pig is sick:
labored breathing
sitting in the corner, not moving, not doing much
stuff coming out of eyes or nose ( if it is milky white it is just what they use to clean themselves)
producing..... waste less
eating or drinking less
bald spots/hair loss
coughing
Sneezing alot (healthy guinea pigs sneeze sometimes, so only if it is very often)

If your pig has any of these symptoms, bring them to the closest exotic vet as soon as possible.