Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello(:

Blaze

Cavy Slave
Hi, everyone! I'm new to the forums, but, have been browsing here for a couple of months now. My name is Gabriel, or Gabe, and it's my first time owning a guinea pig. I got my first guinea pig, Blaze, about five months ago. She's great and all, sometimes still a little skittish, shy, and I guess scared. She eats well, drinks her water, has the proper amount of Vitamin C intake, and loves her veggies. Researching and learning a bit about guinea pigs beforehand, I figured that I would get Blaze a companion. Blaze is a female cavy, so I knew to get another female. I bought Blaze, so I wanted to adopt my next one. I adopted her a couple hours ago, and seem to be having some trouble. Mostly with the introducing part. I gave her some time alone to get used to the surroundings and whatnot, so I figured time to introduce Blaze to her. I gave them their room in a C&C enclosed cage, putting them at opposite ends. At first, they didn't seem to notice, or maybe just didn't care for the other's presence. After a bit, they did notice, and Blaze approached my new piggy. They did the sniffing, around the butt area too, and after a bit, the mounting started. My newly adopted piggy, who I have yet to name, is larger than Blaze so she was trying more, and Blaze was sort of resisting. So, they basically were going in circles trying to see who would eventually be able to get on top. Afterwards, is when I started getting worried. I knew and read about the whole dominance thing, but between them, I was a little afraid. There starting to be the teeth chattering, or whatever it's called, and some fighting, I guess, but I made sure to break them up when it seemed bad. I let them be again, there was still chattering and then they went at it again. This second time seemed bad. The