Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello from the UK!

Bev Morris

Cavy Slave
Hello from the UK. I am new to owning GP's, having bought 2 for my 7yr old daughter who has little or no interest in them since the first week! Me however, I am obsessed with them. I love talking to them and holding them, and want to make them as comfy and happy as possible. They are currently in a large outdoor hutch, which we are moving into our garage (not really a garage, more an extra room) for the winter period now that the weather is cooling. I am interested in making a C&C cage, and have been lucky to have been given a large number of grids, approx 40, so the sky really is the limit! The only problem I have is that my husband does not want them permanantly indoors so we need to come to a compromise and I am thinking of building them more of an outdoor adventure playground that they can be in all day, and them pop them back in the hutch at night. My only negative is the toilet cleaning. I swear they poop more than a small horse! I clean out their house at least daily, and it always seems dirty - am I feeding them too much? I don't want to kill them with kindness but as well as pellets and unlimited hay, I do like them to have fresh fruit and veg every day. There is so much advice about how much to feed, I am confused. They have at least one carrot every day, with the tops, and I feed them a large handful of parsley as this is their favourite food at the moment. As well as this they have one other fruit / veg every day, either an apple, a kiwi, a few strawberrys, or cherry tomatoes. Am I overfeeding?

Bev Morris

Cavy Slave