Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi there

GuineaPigLuvxx

Cavy Slave
I just joined this morning,and I already like this new website:eek:. My name is Alexys and I have only one male all black guinea pig named Tiny Max. He is about 2 years old. And I'm in need of some help. I believe my guinea pig is alittle over weight,and I'm not really sure how much,or what kind of excercise he needs and what kind of diet either. I'm still kind of new to the guinea pig world,since I've only had one other one before Max. And wouldnt mind some helpful information from anyone:). I'm kind of excited to post about Tiny Max on here,I'm glad there is a website for guinea pig lovers,just like horse lovers(like me).
Thanks for reading

Hi and welcome to the site! I'm by no means an expert, but thanks to this site, I have come across GREAT information. As must have for any guinea pig owner is https://www.guinealynx.info/healthycavy.html. Guinea Lynx has the best information for what your guinea pig needs. Read up and have fun!!!

Hi & Welcome!

There are a few guinea pig diet staples you should know of. One of those would be unlimited timothy hay, oxbow and kleenmama's (ordered online) are the best. Another part would be pellets. You pig should be getting 1/8th a cup of quality pellets. For pigs over 6 months Cavy Cuisine is recommented, or again Kleenmama's. Do not give your piggy anything with colored bits or seeds, they can choke on them. Another thing would be veggies. Your piggie should get about a cup of veggies a day. Since they cannot produce their own vitamin C it's a good idea to give 1/8th of a bell pepper a day, & cilantro. Another staple veggie is romaine, but you can find more information about that in the feeding section.