Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Need feed back fast!

mchayes5

Cavy Slave
Hello!

Well I am completely new to the world of Guineas, actually I haven't even entered the guinea world as of yet. That is why I am here, to see if we should go there. My 6 year old son has been asking for a Guinea Pig for quite some time. We are considering getting him one for Christmas and I can't seem to make up my mind. (I know, we need to decide fast!) I have been reading up on them and am understanding what it takes to care for them. We homeschool, so we are home more than the average family and I am feeling pretty confident we could care for him/her. My question is, do they really make good pets for young children. I have been reading some things on the web and I am beginning to wonder. I know he is going to want to hold and pet this little thing but I am wondering how likely are they to bite. When they do bite, do they tend to nip as a warning like a dog might or do they really bite hard? I hope that doesn't sound like a stupid question, I just want to make sure he gets enjoyment out of having one as a pet. Thanks for any feed back!!! ASAP would be great!

mchayes5

AnmlLvr14

Cavy Slave
Guinea pigs are not really recommended for children under 9, unless they are highly supervised when around the pig. They have teeth, so yes, they can bite. Most guinea pigs don't bite hard, but they will nibble at times. My male has to taste me every time I touch him, but it doesn't hurt (but I am also not 6). I personally would not recommend it unless you plan to take care of it yourself and supervise him at all times. If you do decide to get a guinea pig, please adopt (there are lots of homeless guinea pigs in shelters and rescues). Also, they do better in pairs or more.

mamazul

Cavy Slave