Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

hi...

AmberEyedPiggy

Cavy Slave
hi... I have seen this site for a long time, but didn't know how to sign up and stuff, so now I'm in... I am a little new to c&c cages, but not to guinea pigs. I have a boar myself and I am very happy with him:p...I have no access to c&c cages, so I decided to recycle some big cages I had... I will be done in September and post the picture as soon as I can... I will be waiting for comments, too...I got my piggy from a pet store, and as it turned out, he was sick. He had fungus, and the vet didn't help us either. so I decided to take the matters in my own hand and began to smear him with people's anti-fungus grease. So now he is a healthy piggy with a very happy owner...I wanted to ask you guys a question though: do 2 males usually fight in one cage? because I really want to get my piggy a friend, and I'm scared that they will fight...So please help!:?::cheerful:Thanks

lynn's Cavies

Cavy Slave
Hi and welcome to the forum!
Not all males fight. You would have to introduce them on neutral territory. It all depends on their personalities. But I'm sure other people have had more experience than I and will be able to give some better advice. :)

GailtheGuineaPg

Cavy Slave
Welcome, I'm sure you'll be able to find all kind of info about guinea pigs while you're here. Regarding introducing a friend to your boar, there are excellent tips on Cavy Spirit. There are two steps: Quarantine and Introduction. Hopefully if you follow these steps you'll be able to find him a cagemate!https://www.cavyspirit.com/sociallife.htm#Quarantine

JarBax

Cavy Slave