Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Separate these guys?

kimwinpa

Cavy Slave
We adopted 2 male GP in December(they are between 1-2 yrs old). We've had to move the cage a couple of times trying to find the right spot in our home. With each move, the dominate piggie gets very aggressive. There is lots of noise, jumping on the other, and just lots of pestering. Overall the dominate pig is a pest to the other one, but it is worse when there is a chage. Tonight, the 2 are just being terrible. There has been no blood drawn, but at what point do I know I need to separate these guys?We are trying to find the right spot to make our CC , so right now they are in a regular large pet store cage. Help!Kim W

kimgrif

Cavy Slave
I'm not a piggie expert like a lot of the people here, but simply put, I think your poor little boys are just too CROWDED and they have no where to go to get AWAY from each other.

You need to get your C&C built, and fast.

Percy's Mom

Cavy Slave
So far everything they've done is normal. Everytime you move the cage, they have to reestablish dominance because their environment feels different to them. kimgrif is 100% correct though. Keeping them in too small a space like that is only going to make things worse. Pick a spot and build the C&C. You can always move that cage later if you feel that it's necessary.

rabbitsncavyluv

Cavy Slave
Yes, they need more space and at least 2 or 3 of everything. Try to build a loft too.

kimwinpa

Cavy Slave