Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New Cavy Slave arrives! (waving)

taterNwoodyMom

Cavy Slave
Hi fellow cavy friends!

I am very new to cavy slavehood... and if this is slavery, I don't want to be free!
I owned a gerble and a hamster as a child...the hamster was an albino named snowball, should have been hudini, because that thing got out all the time!
Anyway, I don't remember having a really tight animal/owner relationship with them.

We were thinking of getting a dog for our boys... and thought it would be too much responsibility for a first pet. My husband had guineas as a boy and said they were great pets to cuddle and love & the potty training etc. wasn't the hassle like a puppy.

At first I thought ah ok and gave in...but thought, well we will likely get a dog soon too. Soon as the boys show responsibility with the guineas. Like helping me clean the cage and filling the water and food bowls etc.

Well withing 24 hours I was a guinea indentured servant! After watching Tater jump around with glee (popcorning) when he was turned loose in the large critter proofed bathroom I was in love! Giggling like a little girl with my thrilled little boys! "Look at that mom... is he happy?" I hear..."Yes I believe so" I replied. I decided he needed a pal...He is a male and I have heard conflicting stories about whether or not they will get along with another male. I had initially thought of breeding them, because the pet stores can't keep them in stock here, there is a waiting list at two and they buy from local pet owners.
Then I read your breeding don'ts and was so shocked at all that could go wrong and I decided it would be another male. So I thought, better get him while tater is young (only been with us a week) and he is about 6 weeks old.