Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie here! Asking advice on sexual maturity of baby boars,please!

Kbgsmom

Cavy Gazer
My daughter brought home her "baby" Donut, as a gift from her grandparents. Within a few days of having her, I had a feeling she wasn't just jelly-filled! After i told my Mother in law who said she had no idea, they were told they only sold females, I called the pet store to get the response that it happens sometimes but we could "trade her in"....i said a few choice things & ended the conversation...until this point I was completely ignorant about just how terrible these pet stores were!
Fast-forward and we now have Momma Donut, her two boys Snickers, Reese Cup & little girl Cookie. All healthy & very much loved! But my question is, is there any chance of the boys being sexually mature if they won't be 3 weeks until Friday? Tonight my daughter had Donut out for some lap time & just happened to look and notice One persistently trying to mount the girl.. I took her out and he started fighting with his brother.. I'm not sure if he's just practicing, but to be safe I now have the boys in one cage and the girls in another ( I had to move out of the room because he was trying to get to them !

maddy harper

Cavy Slave
hello and welcome ;d

Soecara

Cavy Slave
There have been no recorded cases that I know of in which a male guinea pig had viable sperm before 3 weeks of age. It is safe to leave them with their sister and mother until they are 3 weeks old unless there is aggression issues to the point where blood is drawn.

I did have a situation in which I separated some boys before they where 3 weeks old and it has not impacted them, but it is not something to do unless it is necessary.