Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Dominance Young Male Dominance?

zoenanai

Cavy Slave
I'm new to the life of piggies. We got our first two about 12 days ago. From the pet stores before I knew there was SO MUCH to know about guineas. So we are quickly making all the necessary arrangements to keep them healthy and happy (I have definitely turned into a piggie lover!). I have done nothing but read up on them for the last week and our 2x4 C&C is on its way. They are currently in a 30"x20" single level store bought cage...again, before I knew better. :/

On to my question. One boy is about 12 wks (Silas) and the other 9 wks (Conner aka Squeaker--kids were undecided on names). Positive both are boys as that much I did do plenty of research on. Saw the boy parts myself and checked multiple times. They were NOT bought at the same place though. We bought the first boy (the older one) and then that night read that we should have two, so two days later we got the younger boy at a different store. Normal dominance behaviors like mounting, rumbling, and circling each other, though Silas has definitely shown himself the alpha male. Connor endures the mounting and seems to be ok with the less dominant position (though he tries now and then to mount the other with no success, as Silas quickly turns and lets him know who is boss). Nothing in their behaviors toward one another worries me, but it is interaction WITH ME that has me slightly concerned.

Connor is OK and displaying normal behaviors for getting used to his new home and everything...very fidgety and doesn't like to be picked up or lap time for more than a couple minutes. He does, however, eat from my hand and will sit for petting in my lap while eating.